Here’s another one of those mysterious albums that has long since been lost on vinyl. Mysterious I say, because other than the fact that it was released on the Somerset label (SF-195) in 1963, very little is known about it – including who Homer and the Barnstormers were. There is plenty of speculation out there (this album is in collections all over the world), but there are no definitive answers out there. If you find any, let me know. In the meantime, enjoy the pickin’s!

Track Listing:

  1. Ballad of Jed Clampett
  2. Fire on the Mountain
  3. Stay all Night
  4. Arkansas Traveler
  5. Careless Love
  6. Granfather’s Clock
  7. Cumberland Gap
  8. Goin’ up Cripple Creek
  9. Ole’ Joe Clark
  10. Camptown Races
  11. Ole’ Dan Tucker
  12. Blue Grass Blossoms


  1. avatar JohnD

    This is a really great album. Can you add the ‘Ballad of Jed Clampett’ to the MP3 download?

  2. avatar

    The Ballad of Jed Clampett is missing. hmmm…. That’s odd. I will see what I can do. I will have to search through my archives and see if I can find the mp3 file.

  3. avatar

    Ok John, I uploaded the Ballad of Jed Clampett and have added a link above. I am still not sure how it got missed in the album download. Sorry for the inconvenience. BTW – Steve Martin (the comedian who plays the banjo) listed this as one of his early influences, and one of his all-time favourite bluegrass albums.

Leave a Reply