Canned Heat: You Am What You Am

Canned Heat - One More River To CrossArtist: Canned Heat
Title: You Am What You Am
Album: One More River To Cross
Label: Atlantic
Released: 1973

This is Canned Heat in a period of transition – not a particularly good one, or so most fans would likely agree. The band had negotiated out of their contract with Liberty Records and this was their debut for Atlantic. Perhaps it was the leadership at Atlantic, or just the band trying to move in a new direction, but this album fails to deliver the same impact and energy of their former efforts. The Heat are supported by the Muscle Shoal Horns, along with Barry Beckett and Roger Hawkins. Normally this would be a good thing, but Canned Heat is at its best in its most stripped down form. Ironically, the strongest track on the record is guitarist James Shane’s, You Am What You Am - the one track that best embraces their new failed direction.

Canned Heat:

  • Bob Hite – vocals
  • Henry Vestine – lead guitar
  • Richard Hite – bass
  • Adolfo de la Parra – drums
  • James Shane – guitar
  • Ed Beyer – piano

Additional Personnel:

  • Muscle Shoal Horns – horns
  • Roger Hawkins – drums
  • Barry Beckett – keyboards


  • Barry Beckett – Producer
  • Roger Hawkins – Producer
  • Jerry Masters – Engineer
  • Steve Melton – Engineer

Leave a Reply